College Search

Report Abuse

UT Arlington

The University of Texas at Arlington is a state university located in Arlington, Texas. The campus is situated southwest of downtown Arlington, and is located in the Dallas�Fort Worth�Arlington metropolitan area.



701 South Nedderman Drive
Zip/Post Code

Contact Information


Total Undergrad enrollment
Total Graduate enrollment
In State Tuition Fees
Out State Tuition Fees
ACT Score
SAT Score
Male Female Ratio
Acceptance Rate
Student Faculty Ratio

Additional Information

College Type
Religious Affiliation
Campus Housing
Mission Statement
White Blue Orange
Sun Belt
Athletic Twitter

College History


The university traces its roots back to the opening of Arlington College in September 1895. Arlington College was established as a private school for primary through secondary level students, equivalent to the modern 1st�10th grades. At the time, the public school system in the city of Arlington was underfunded and understaffed.[12] Local merchant Edward Emmett Rankin organized fellow citizens of the city to donate materials and land to build a schoolhouse where the modern campus is now located.[13] Ranking also convinced the two co-principals of the public school in Arlington, Lee Morgan Hammond and William H. Trimble, to invest in and hold the same positions at Arlington College. In the first few years, between 75 and 150 students were enrolled in the college. The public school began to rent space at Arlington College, and was eventually sold to the city in 1900. The public school building became so unsafe that all of the space in Arlington College was rented for the 1901�1902 school year until the creation of the Arlington Independent School District in 1902. Although the public education system was set to improve, Arlington College was closed and the property was sold to James McCoy Carlisle. Carlisle was already established as a respected educator in the North Texas region, and he opened the Carlisle Military Academy in the fall of 1902. His program consisted of a balance between course work and military training. Enrollment increased to 150 students by 1905, and he began a large expansion of the campus. Baseball, football, basketball, and track teams were begun between 1904�1908. Around the same time, new barracks, a track, a gymnasium, and an indoor pool were built. The academy became known as one of the best at its level in the country.[13] Unfortunately, enrollment did not continue to increase with the expansion in facilities and Carlisle ran into serious financial problems. Lawsuits for the mortgages on the property were filed in 1911, and Carlisle Military Academy was closed in 1913. In the fall of 1913, H.K. Taylor moved from Missouri where he was president of the Northwest State Teachers' College to set up another military academy called Arlington Training School.[14] He also was required to manage the finances and campus for the property owners. By the 1914�1915 school year, the campus contained 11 buildings on 10 acres (40,000 m2) of land with 95 students enrolled.[15] The school was incorporated in 1915 in order to raise funds to make improvements to the existing buildings, but more financial problems arose and another series of lawsuits were filed. Taylor left Arlington, and the property owners hired John B. Dodson to establish a third military academy for the 1916�1917 school year called Arlington Military Academy. Enrollment was apparently very low,[13] and Arlington Military Academy closed after one year.

College Specialty


The University of Texas at Arlington is a comprehensive research, teaching, and public service institution whose mission is the advancement of knowledge and the pursuit of excellence. The University is committed to the promotion of lifelong learning through its academic and continuing education programs and to the formation of good citizenship through its community service learning programs. The diverse student body shares a wide range of cultural values and the University community fosters unity of purpose and cultivates mutual respect.



Lee Morgan Hammond & William H. Trimble, Co-principals, Arlington College, 1895�1902[69] James McCoy Carlisle, Chief Administrator, Carlisle Military Academy, 1902�1913[69] Henry Kirby Taylor, Chief Administrator, Arlington Training School, 1913�1916 John B. Dodson, Chief Administrator, Arlington Military Academy, 1916�1917 Myron L. Williams, Dean, Grubbs Vocational College, 1917�1923 Edward Everett Davis, Dean, North Texas Agricultural College, 1923�1946 Ernest H. Hereford, PhD, Dean, North Texas Agricultural College, 1946�1948 Ernest H. Hereford, PhD, President, Arlington State College 1948�1958 Jack R. Woolf, PhD, President, ASC and UTA, 1959�1968[69] Frank Harrison, PhD, President, UT Arlington, 1968�1972 Wendell Nedderman, PhD, President, UT Arlington, 1972�1992[69] Ryan Amacher, PhD, President, UT Arlington, 1992�1995 Robert E. Witt, PhD, President, UT Arlington, 1995�2003 Charles A. Sorber, PhD, Interim President, UT Arlington, 2003�2004 James D. Spaniolo, M.P.A., J.D., President, UT Arlington, 2004�2013 Vistasp Karbhari, PhD, President, UT Arlington, 2013�present



Urban, 420 Acres (1.7 Km2) On Main Campus