College Search

Report Abuse

University of Northwestern

University of Northwestern � St. Paul is a private conservative Evangelical Christian college located primarily in Roseville, Minnesota, United States and is accredited by the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools.


3003 N Snelling Ave
Saint Paul
Zip/Post Code

Contact Information


Total Undergrad enrollment
Total Graduate enrollment
In State Tuition Fees
Out State Tuition Fees
ACT Score
SAT Score
Grade Point Average(GPA)
Male Female Ratio
Acceptance Rate
Student Faculty Ratio

Additional Information

College Type
Religious Affiliation
Campus Housing
Mission Statement
Purple Gold
Upper Midwest

College History


Northwestern University is a private institution founded in 1851 to serve the Northwest Territory, an area that now includes the states of Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Wisconsin and parts of Minnesota. In 1853, the founders purchased a 379-acre tract of land on the shore of Lake Michigan 12 miles north of Chicago. They established a campus and developed the land near it, naming the surrounding town Evanston in honor of one of the University's founders, John Evans. After completing its first building in 1855, Northwestern began classes that fall with two faculty members and 10 students. Sixteen presidents have presided over Northwestern in the years since. The University has grown to include 12 schools and colleges, with additional campuses in Chicago and Doha, Qatar. See highlights in Northwestern�s history: 1850 On May 31 John Evans, Grant Goodrich, Henry W. Clark, Andrew Brown, Orrington Lunt, Jabez Botsford, Richard Haney, Richard H. Blanchard, and Zadoc Hall meet above a hardware store at 69 West Lake Street in Chicago and resolve to establish a university under the patronage of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 1851 On January 28, the Illinois legislature approves Northwestern's Act of Incorporation, granting 36 trustees the power to administer the University's business affairs, organize faculty, adopt by-laws, and grant degrees. 1853 Clark T. Hinman becomes University's first president on June 23. The University purchases 379 acres on Lake Michigan for $25,000. 1855 The University officially opens on November 5. Northwestern's first building, Old College, is completed. An amendment to University charter forbids the sale of liquor within four miles of campus. 1856 Randolph Foster becomes the University president. 1859 Five students receive bachelor's degrees at Northwestern's first commencement. 1860 Henry Noyes becomes the University president. Student Edward Spencer rescues 17 survivors of the Lady Elgin, which sank in Lake Michigan. 1869 Erastus Haven becomes the University president. Trustees vote to admit young women to University classes "under the same terms and conditions as young men." Evanston resident Rebecca Hoag becomes first female to enroll at Northwestern. 1870 Chicago Medical College enters into an agreement with Northwestern University to serve as the University's Department of Medicine. New medical school building opens at Twenty-sixth and Prairie Avenue, adjacent to Mercy Hospital. Women's Hospital Medical College opens. 1872 Dr. Charles Fowler becomes the University president. 1874 Sarah Rebecca Roland is first woman to receive a degree from Northwestern. 1882 The first football game is played against Lake Forest College. 1890 Henry Wade Rogers becomes University president. 1891 The School of Law opens. 1896 Northwestern's first PhDs are awarded; one is in chemistry, and one is in philosophy. 1902 The Rock, originally a drinking fountain, is given as a gift of the class of 1902. 1903 President Theodore Roosevelt visits campus. Northwestern wins the first of seven Big Ten football championships. 1908 The School of Commerce opens. 1909 The College of Engineering opens. 1912 Kenneth Huszagh is the first Northwestern athlete to participate in the Olympics. "Go U Northwestern," written by Northwestern University marching band member Theodore Van Etten, premieres in the season's final football game. 1917 Northwestern Medical Corps formed. Northwestern men and women serve in various capacities in World War I: 250 students sign up for active service; 800 women mobilized in National Aid and Red Cross work; a total of 3,606 went to war, and 65 died. 1920 Walter Dill Scott becomes the first non-Methodist University president. 1921 Medill School of Journalism is established. 1924 Wildcats becomes the name for Northwestern's athletics teams. 1929 The first Waa-Mu show is performed. 1932 A merger of Northwestern and University of Chicago is proposed and dismissed. 1933 University College is created. 1939 Franklyn Snyder becomes the University President. The first-ever NCAA Men's Basketball Championship is held at Northwestern in Patten Gymnasium. 1948 WNUR begins broadcasting. Professor Melville Herskovits establishes the Program of African Studies. 1949 J. Roscoe Miller is named the University president. Northwestern's first computer is installed on campus in an unused room of the Dearborn Observatory. Northwestern defeats California 20-14 in the Rose Bowl. 1957 Daily Northwestern staffers first paint the Rock. 1970 Robert Strotz becomes the University president. From May 6 to 13, campus is shut down in protest of Kent State shootings; this is the longest the school has ever been closed. 1975 The first Dance Marathon is held. 1979 Women's Basketball wins its first of two consecutive Big Ten titles. 1985 Arnold Weber becomes the University president. 1995 Henry Bienen becomes the University president. 1998 Professor John Pople is awarded the Nobel Prize for Chemistry. 2005 The women's lacrosse team wins its first of seven NCAA titles in eight years. 2006 U.S. Senator Barack Obama gives the commencement address. 2007 Northwestern begins offering journalism and communication degrees at its new branch campus in Qatar. 2008 Morton Schapiro becomes the University president. 2010 Professor Dale Mortensen is awarded the Nobel Prize for Economics.

College Specialty


University of Northwestern � St. Paul exists to provide Christ-centered higher education equipping students to grow intellectually and spiritually, to serve effectively in their professions, and to give God-honoring leadership in the home, church, community, and world.



Roger Youderian, Christian missionary who was killed in Ecuador Henry Charles Smith, Grammy Award-winning conductor and trombonist Ron Carey (Minnesota politician), Former MN Independent Republican Party Chairman



107-Acre (43�Ha)