College Search

Report Abuse

University of New Hampshire

The University of New Hampshire is a public research university in the University System of New Hampshire, in the United States. The main campus is in Durham, New Hampshire, in the Seacoast region of the state.



105 Main St
Zip/Post Code

Contact Information

Financial Aid Website


Total Undergrad enrollment
Total Graduate enrollment
In State Tuition Fees
Out State Tuition Fees
ACT Score
SAT Score
Male Female Ratio
Acceptance Rate
Student Faculty Ratio

Additional Information

College Type
Religious Affiliation
Campus Housing
Mission Statement
Wild E. Cat, Gnarlz
White Blue
America East

College History


In 1866, the university was first incorporated as the New Hampshire College of Agriculture and the Mechanic Arts in Hanover, New Hampshire, in association with Dartmouth College. Durham resident Benjamin Thompson left his farm and assets to the state for the establishment of an agricultural college. On January 30, 1890, Benjamin Thompson died and his will became public. On March 5, 1891 Gov. Hiram Americus Tuttle signed an act accepting the conditions of Thompson's will. On April 10, 1891, Gov. Tuttle signed a bill authorizing the college's move to Durham, New Hampshire. In 1892, the Board of Trustees hired Charles Eliot to draw a site plan for the first five campus buildings: Thompson, Conant, Nesmith, and Hewitt Shops (now called Halls) and the Dairy Barn. Eliot visited Durham and worked for three months to create a plan prior to the move to Durham. The Class of 1892, excited about the pending move to Durham, held commencement exercises in an unfinished barn on the Durham campus. On April 18, 1892, the Board of Trustees voted to "authorize the faculty to make all the arrangements for the packing and removal of college property at Hanover to Durham." The Class of 1893, followed the previous class and held commencement exercises in unfinished Thompson Hall, the Romanesque Revival campus centerpiece designed by the prominent Concord architectural firm of Dow & Randlett. In fall 1893, classes officially began in Durham with 51 freshmen and 13 upperclassmen, which was three times the projected enrollment. Graduate study was also established in fall 1893 for the first time. The number of students and the lack of state funds for dormitories caused a housing crunch and forced students to find housing in town. The lack of housing caused difficulty for attracting women to the university. In 1908, construction on Smith Hall, the first women's dorm, was completed using private and state funds. Prior to the construction of Fairchild Hall in 1915 for male students, 50 freshmen lived in the basement of DeMerritt Hall. With the continuing housing shortage for men, the administration encouraged the growth of the UNH Greek system. From the late 1910s through the 1930s, the fraternity system expanded and provided room and board for male students. In 1923, Gov. Fred Herbert Brown signed a bill changing the name of the college to University of New Hampshire, despite pressure by state agriculture interests that had defeated a similar proposal in 1911. The University of New Hampshire ranks lowest in the country for the amount of subsidy it receives from the state

College Specialty


The University of New Hampshire is the state�s public research university, providing comprehensive, high-quality undergraduate programs and graduate programs of distinction. Its primary purpose is learning: students collaborating with faculty in teaching, research, creative expression, and service. UNH has a national and international agenda and holds land-grant, sea-grant, and space-grant charters. From its main campus in Durham, its college in Manchester, and the UNH School of Law in Concord, the University serves New Hampshire and the region through continuing education, cooperative extension, cultural outreach, economic development activities, and applied research. UNH is distinguished by its commitment to high quality undergraduate instruction, select excellence in graduate education, relatively small size, a location in a beautiful and culturally rich part of the seacoast of New England and a strong sense of responsibility for this special place, a commitment to serving the public good, and our emergence over the past decade as a significant research institution. The dedication of our faculty to the highest academic standards infuses all we do with the excitement of discovery.



Derek Bekar (1998), professional ice hockey forward, St. Louis Blues (current), Los Angeles Kings, New York Islanders (former) Eric Boguniecki (1997), professional ice hockey forward, New York Islanders (current), Pittsburgh Penguins, St. Louis Blues, Florida Panthers (former) Bobby Butler (2010), professional ice hockey forward, Ottawa Senators Ty Conklin (2001), professional ice hockey goaltender, St. Louis Blues (current), Detroit Red Wings, Pittsburgh Penguins, Buffalo Sabres, Columbus Blue Jackets, Edmonton Oilers (former) Ralph Cox (1979), last player cut from the famed Winter Olympic team that won the gold at Lake Placid in 1980. Was First-Team All-Conference in 1978-1979 and ECAC Hockey Player of the Year in 1979. He was the team's leading goal-scorer for three consecutive years and is the only UNH player to ever score 40 goals in two different seasons. He was inducted into the New Hampshire Athletics Hall of Fame in 1986.[3] Kevin Dean (1991), professional ice hockey defense, Chicago Blackhawks, Dallas Stars, Atlanta Thrashers, New Jersey Devils, champion with New Jersey Devils Tricia Dunn-Luoma (1995), three-time Olympian, Gold Medal winner, women's ice hockey Bobby Gould (1979), forward, Atlanta/Calgary Flames, Washington Capitals, Boston Bruins, two-time Selke Trophy nominee Darren Haydar (2002), professional ice hockey forward, Detroit Red Wings (current), Atlanta Thrashers, Nashville Predators (former) Colin Hemingway (2003), professional ice hockey forward, St. Louis Blues Jason Krog (1999), professional ice hockey forward, Vancouver Canucks, (current) New York Rangers, Atlanta Thrashers, New York Islanders, Anaheim Ducks, New York Rangers (former), 1999 Hobey Baker Award winner Rod Langway (1977), professional ice hockey defense, played for Montreal Canadiens 1979�82, Washington Capitals 1982�93, elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2002, Norris Trophy winner 1982 and 1983 Dave Lumley (1977), professional ice hockey forward, two-time Stanley Cup champion with Edmonton Oilers Mark Mowers (1998), professional ice hockey forward, Anaheim Ducks (current), Boston Bruins, Detroit Red Wings, Nashville Predators (former) Bryan Muir (1995), professional ice hockey defense, Washington Capitals, Los Angeles Kings, Colorado Avalanche, Tampa Bay Lightning, Chicago Blackhawks, New Jersey Devils, Edmonton Oilers, Stanley Cup champion with Colorado Avalanche Eric Nickulas (1997), professional ice hockey forward, Boston Bruins, St. Louis Blues, Chicago Blackhawks Trevor Smith, professional ice hockey centre Garrett Stafford (2003), professional ice hockey defense, Dallas Stars (current), Detroit Red Wings (former) Kevin Regan (2008), professional ice hockey goalie, Fife Flyers, finalist for Hobey Baker Award, all time leader in save percentage in Hockey East conference games James van Riemsdyk (2012), professional ice hockey left winger, Toronto Maple Leafs (current), Philadelphia Flyers (attended) Erin Whitten (1993), first woman to win a professional hockey game. Replaced Alan Harvey due to injury in the second period, and stopped 15 of 19 shots in a 6�5 win over Dayton in the ECHL Toledo Storm Daniel Winnik (2006), professional ice hockey forward, San Jose Sharks (former), Anaheim Ducks (current).