College Search

Report Abuse

University of Nebraska – Omaha

The University of Nebraska Omaha is a four-year state university located in Omaha, Nebraska. Founded in 1908 as Omaha University, the institution became the public Municipal University of Omaha in 1931.


6001 Dodge St
Zip/Post Code

Contact Information

Financial Aid Website


Total Undergrad enrollment
Total Graduate enrollment
In State Tuition Fees
Out State Tuition Fees
ACT Score
Grade Point Average(GPA)
Male Female Ratio
Acceptance Rate
Student Faculty Ratio

Additional Information

College Type
Religious Affiliation
Campus Housing
Mission Statement
Black Crimson
The Summit League
Athletic Facebook

College History


The original Omaha University was founded in 1908 in the Kountze Place neighborhood of North Omaha. The first classes were located in the Redick Mansion, once at North 24th and Pratt Streets, from 1909 through 1917. As the university was established a few blocks north of the Presbyterian Theological Seminary, most of its early faculty were recruited from Seminary teachers, as well as the faculty of Bellevue College. There were 26 students in the first year, most of whom had graduated from Omaha Central High School. Three of the University's first four presidents were ordained Presbyterian ministers.[2][3] Two other buildings on the original campus included Jacobs Hall, a gymnasium erected in 1910, and Joslyn Hall, a classroom building erected in 1917. Jacobs Hall was a gymnasium facing North 24th Street, built with $14,000 from the sale of land donated by Lillian Maul. The land, the first donation to the university, was near the present West Dodge campus of the university. It was the first new building constructed on the university campus. Joslyn Hall was built with funds donated by a well-known resident, George A. Joslyn. Donating $25,000 toward the building, he stipulated the school match that with another $25,000 in a year. The building was located just north of Redick Hall and was finished in January 1917. Joslyn Hall had three stories and a basement, with a total of thirty classrooms that accommodated 750 students. The building included chemistry and physics laboratories, an auditorium and music department.[4] Redick Hall was sold and moved in February 1917 to Minnesota, where it was adapted for use in a resort. In the early 1920s a proposed "magnificent campus" was slated for development between 21st and 25th Avenues, bounded by Kountze Park and the Carter Lake Park. In 1927, businessmen formed the North Omaha Activities Association in order to redevelop Saratoga School's playing field into a football field for the University's football team. With new bleachers built to accommodate a crowd of one thousand, the Saratoga Field was home to OU's football team until 1951.[5] The school also served as OU's science call from 1917 to 1926.[6] The university moved from the North Omaha campus to its present main location at 60th and Dodge Street in 1938. The old campus buildings were redeveloped for a time as apartments and offices. In June 1964 Jacobs and Joslyn halls were the last two original OU buildings at 24th & Pratt Streets to be demolished. They were taken down in the early 1960s to make way for a 12-story Omaha Housing Authority apartment building for the elderly, which was completed in 1965.[4] Dr. Milo Bail became president of Omaha University in 1948 and served until 1965. During that time, Omaha hotel magnate Eugene C. Eppley's foundation gave more than $1.2 million to the university. After Eppley's passing, the Eppley Foundation donated another $50,000 to recruit distinguished professors. The Eugene C. Eppley Administration Building, designed by John Latenser, Sr.,[6] at the university was named in recognition of the gifts.[7][8] In 1952 the national Silver Wings student organization was founded at the University of Omaha. In 1976 the Dr. C.C. and Mabel L. Criss Library replaced the Eppley Library.

College Specialty


The University of Nebraska at Omaha, as part of the University of Nebraska, is a comprehensive university sited in Nebraska�s largest metropolitan area. Its distinguished faculty is drawn from the nation�s leading graduate institutions. UNO exists for the purpose of providing appropriate educational opportunities, discovering and disseminating knowledge through research and teaching, and offering public service to the citizens of the State, particularly the residents of the Omaha metropolitan area. Through these traditional, interdependent, and mutually-reinforcing functions, the faculty of the University of Nebraska at Omaha enrich the lives of students; advance the frontiers of knowledge; and contribute to the social, cultural, international and economic development of the community, State, and region.



Charles J. Adams, United States Air Force Brigadier General Jason Brilz, mixed-martial artist who fights for the Ultimate Fighting Championship Marlin Briscoe, first black starting quarterback in modern professional Football (the American Football League) Tyler Cloyd, pitcher for Cleveland Indians Harold Dow, CBS News correspondent and investigative reporter Jake Ellenberger, Mixed-Martial Artist for the Ultimate Fighting Championship Dan Ellis, current goaltender for the Florida Panthers and the 60th overall pick in the 2000 NHL Entry Draft Dick Fletcher, Emmy Award-winning television meteorologist Peter Fonda, actor, attended Omaha University, but did not complete his degree. Mike Gabinet, current ice hockey assistant head coach at the Northern Alberta Institute Of Technology and the 237th overall pick in the 2001 NHL Entry Draft Chuck Hagel, U.S. Senator, U.S. Secretary of Defense Jeff Koterba, Editorial Cartoonist, Omaha World Herald James J. Lindsay, United States Army General Jerry Magee, Award-winning newspaper sports columnist Zach Miller, current NFL tight-end for the Chicago Bears and the 180th overall pick in the 2009 NFL Draft. Conor Oberst of Bright Eyes attended UNO, but did not complete his degree Gene Okerlund, Wrestling Announcer for notable companies like the AWA, WCW and now WWE Scott Parse, former NHL wing and the 174th overall pick in the 2004 NHL Entry Draft Penny Sackett, Astronomer, Chief Scientist of Australia Gerald Theunissen, banker in Jennings, Louisiana, who served from 1992-2008 in both houses of the Louisiana State Legislature Leslie J. Westberg, United States Air Force Brigadier General James R. Young, Chairman and President of Union Pacific Railroad. Greg Zanon, current captain for the San Antonio Rampage of the American Hockey League and the 156th overall pick in the 2000 NHL Entry Draft Greg Zuerlein, kicker for the St. Louis Rams



Urban, 158 Acres (64�Ha)