College Search

Report Abuse

University of Memphis

The University of Memphis, also called the U of M, is an American public research university located in the Normal Station neighborhood of Memphis, Tennessee. Founded in 1912, the university has an enrollment of more than 21,000 students. With 25 Chairs of Excellence and five state-approved Centers of Excellence, the school is the flagship institution of the Tennessee Board of Regents system.
The University maintains the Center for Earthquake Research and Information (CERI), the Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law, the former Lambuth University campus (now a branch campus of the university), the Loewenberg School of Nursing, the FedEx Institute of Technology, the Advanced Distributed Learning Workforce Co-Lab, and the Institute of Egyptian Art and Archaeology.



3720 Alumni Ave
Zip/Post Code

Contact Information

Financial Aid Website


Total Undergrad enrollment
Total Graduate enrollment
In State Tuition Fees
Out State Tuition Fees
ACT Score
SAT Score
Grade Point Average(GPA)
Male Female Ratio
Acceptance Rate
Student Faculty Ratio

Additional Information

College Type
Religious Affiliation
Campus Housing
Mission Statement
Grey and Blue
American Athletic

College History


In 1909, the Tennessee Legislature enacted the General Education Bill. This bill stated that three colleges be established within each grand division of the state and one additional school for African-American students. After much bidding and campaigning, the state had to choose between two sites to build the new college for West Tennessee: Jackson, Tennessee and Memphis, Tennessee. Memphis was chosen, one of the main reasons being the proximity of the rail line to the site proposed to build the new college for West Tennessee. This would allow professors and students to go home and visit their relatives. The other three schools established through the General Education Act are modern-day East Tennessee State University, Middle Tennessee State University and Tennessee State University. Prior to the establishment of the West Tennessee Normal School pursuant to the General Education Bill, a number of higher education departments existed in Memphis under the banner of the University of Memphis.

This earlier University of Memphis was formed in 1909 by adding to an already existing medical school departments of pharmacy, dentistry, and law.[10] On September 10, 1912, West Tennessee Normal School opened in Memphis; its first president was Seymour A. Mynders. By 1913 all departments of the earlier University of Memphis, except the law school, had been taken over by the State University.[10][11] After Mynders' death in 1913, John Willard Brister was chosen to take his place. After Brister's resignation in 1918, Andrew A. Kincannon became president. In 1924, Brister returned to his post as president of the school. The name changed in 1925 to West Tennessee State Teachers College. In 1931, the campus' first newspaper, The Tiger Rag, was established. In 1939, Richard C. Jones became president of WTSTC. In 1941, the school was changed to Memphis State College, when the college expanded its liberal arts curriculum. In 1943, Dr. Jennings B. Sanders succeeded Jones as president. Three years later, the first alumnus to become president, J. Millard (Jack) Smith, was appointed. In 1951 MSC awarded its first B.A. degrees.

In 1957 the school received full University status, and changed its name accordingly. In 1959, five years after Brown v. Board of Education the University admitted its first black students. Because racial segregation was the norm throughout the South at the time the Memphis State Eight, as they were known, were admitted to Memphis State University, their presence on campus was the focus not only of intense media scrutiny, but severe criticism from much of the local public. Ostensibly for the black students' safety and to maintain an air of calm on the campus, University administrators placed certain restrictions on where and when the black students could be on campus. They were to go only to their classes, not to any of the public places on campus, such as the cafeteria; and they were to leave the campus immediately after they had finished their last class. These limitations were lifted after the novelty of their presence on campus had subsided and the publics focus on their presence there had lessened, and as more and more black students were admitted to the University. Today, black students make up more than one-third of the campus student body and they participate fully in all campus activities. Cecil C. Humphreys became president of MSU, succeeding Smith, in 1960. In 1966, the school began awarding doctoral degrees. Humphreys resigned as MSU president to become the first chancellor of the newly formed State University and Community College System, later renamed the Tennessee Board of Regents. 

College Specialty


Our mission is to offer business education for a diverse student population by teaching a rigorous and relevant business curriculum, supported and strengthened by research and community outreach. Our degree programs serve the workforce needs of the Mid-South region and beyond. Specifically, in order of emphasis, Through our MBA program, as well as the Executive MBA, International MBA, and other masters programs, we prepare students for leadership roles in a technology-driven and globally competitive marketplace.

We provide an undergraduate program that prepares students for successful careers in todays technology-driven and globally competitive marketplace and for future graduate studies. We offer a Ph.D. program in business administration in selected areas of existing and emerging strengths to prepare students for teaching, research, or professional careers while serving as a research catalyst to stimulate faculty scholarly endeavors.



Kathy Bates American actress and film director Dixie Carter American actress Steve Cohen U.S. Representative, 9th Congressional District, Tennessee Stephen Gostkowski American football player New England Patriots, NFL Spurgeon Neel, MD Maj General, U.S. Army, aeromedical evacuation pioneer Edmund Warren Perry writer Fred Thompson Former U.S. Senator Dan Uggla MLB second baseman Stan Franklin Internationally-renowned cognitive scientist DeAngelo Williams American football player Carolina Panthers, NFL.




The University of Memphis campus is located approximately 5 miles (8.0 km) east of downtown in the University District neighborhood of east Memphis. It has an area of 1,160 acres (4.7 km2), although this figure does not include the law school in the former United States federal customshouse in downtown Memphis, which opened in January 2010. The historical core of campus encompasses approximately 30 acres (120,000 m2).