College Search

Report Abuse

University of District of Columbia

The University of the District of Columbia (UDC) is a public university located in the U.S. capital of Washington, D.C. UDC is one of the few urban land-grant universities in the country and a member-school of the Thurgood Marshall College Fund. It is also the only public university in the District of Columbia.



4200 Connecticut Ave NW
Zip/Post Code

Contact Information

Financial Aid Website


Total Undergrad enrollment
Total Graduate enrollment
In State Tuition Fees
Out State Tuition Fees
Male Female Ratio
Acceptance Rate
Student Faculty Ratio

Additional Information

College Type
Religious Affiliation
Campus Housing
Mission Statement
Red And Gold
East Coast

College History


UDC was created in 1977 from the merger of the District of Columbia Teachers College with Federal City College and the Washington Technical Institute. Myrtilla Miner founded the Normal School for Colored Girls in 1851. In 1879, by then known as Miner Normal School, it joined the D.C. public education system. The Washington Normal School was established in 1873 for girls, and was renamed the Wilson Normal School in 1913. In 1929, the United States Congress made both schools four-year teachers' colleges and designated Miner Teachers College for African Americans and Wilson Teachers College for whites. In 1955, following Brown v. Board of Education, the two schools merged into the District of Columbia Teachers College. Senator Wayne Morse of Oregon and Congressman Ancher Nelsen of Minnesota sponsored the District of Columbia Public Education Act, enacted on November 7, 1966 as (Public Law 89-791), which established two additional institutions. Federal City College was created as a four-year liberal arts college. It was originally planned to be a small, selective college of about 700 students. By the time the college opened in 1968, however, admission was open and applications had soared to 6000; students were placed by lottery. The Washington Technical Institute was established as a technical school. Both institutions were also given land-grant status and awarded a $7.24 million endowment (USD), in lieu of a land grant. The Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools (MACS) granted educational accreditation to Washington Technical Institute in 1971 and to Federal City College in 1974. Efforts to unify the D.C. Teachers College, Federal City College, and Washington Technical Institute under a single administrative structure began in earnest after the passage of the District of Columbia Home Rule Act. A merger of the institutions was approved in 1975, and on August 1, 1977, the three institutions were formally consolidated as the University of the District of Columbia, with Lisle Carleton Carter, Jr. named its first president. Beginning with the 2009-10 academic year, UDC's programs were split into two separate institutions under an umbrella "university system"-style setup. A new Community College assumed UDC's associate's degree, certificate, continuing education, and workforce development programs, while the UDC Flagship campus continued with its bachelor's and graduate degree programs. While UDC-CC will maintain an open enrollment policy, a high school diploma no longer guarantees admission into UDC. In late 2012, the university reported that its average expenses of "$35,152 per full-time student are 66 percent higher than expenses for comparable schools." To cut costs, UDC underwent a reorganization and plans to eliminate several degree programs. In 2012 and 2013, the University made a number of very difficult choices that resulted in the elimination of 97 full-time equivalent positions including abolished positions, executive appointments, and vacant funded positions. In late December 2012, the Board of Trustees approved a change in the University�s executive administration and appointed Dr. Rachel Petty to serve as interim COO. During the spring of 2013 James E. Lyons Sr. was hired as an interim President to lead the institution forward.

College Specialty


The University of the District of Columbia is an Historically Black College and University (HBCU) and an urban land-grant institute of higher education. Through its community college, university and graduate schools, it offers affordable post-secondary education to District of Columbia residents at the certificate, associate, baccalaureate and graduate levels. These programs will prepare students for immediate entry into the workforce, the next level of education, specialized employment opportunities or life-long learning



Denis G. Antoine Ambassador of Grenada to the US and representative to the Organization of American States Thelma Thompson President of the University of Maryland Eastern Shore Richard Pennington 1988 Chief of Police Atlanta, Georgia Norma Holloway Johnson 1955 Former United States federal judge who ruled on Kenneth Starr's probe of the Clinton administration. Lennox Yearwood 1998 President of the Hip Hop Caucus Kali Troy Voice over actress Aldon Lynn Nielsen Poet Cathy L. Lanier Chief of Police with the Metropolitan Police Department of the District of Columbia Branislav Andjeli? 1991 Serbian Internet pioneer, economist and politician Lyn McLain Cofounder of the DC Youth Orchestra Program Carolyn Harris 1969 Library conservationist Rasheim Wright Jordanian basketball player.