College Search

Report Abuse

University of Dallas

Established in 1956, the University of Dallas is a private, independent Catholic regional university located in Irving, Texas that is accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB)[19] and Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.


1845 E Northgate Dr
Zip/Post Code

Contact Information

Financial Aid Website


Total Undergrad enrollment
Total Graduate enrollment
In State Tuition Fees
Out State Tuition Fees
ACT Score
SAT Score
Grade Point Average(GPA)
Male Female Ratio
Acceptance Rate
Student Faculty Ratio

Additional Information

College Type
Religious Affiliation
Roman Catholic Church
Campus Housing
Mission Statement
Navy And White ��
Southern Collegiate

College History


The University of Dallas' charter dates from 1910 when the Western Province of the Congregation of the Mission (Vincentians) renamed Holy Trinity College in Dallas, which they had founded in 1905. The provincial of the Western Province closed the university in 1928, and the charter reverted to the Diocese of Dallas. In 1955, the Western Province of the Sisters of Saint Mary of Namur obtained it to create a new higher education institution in Dallas that would subsume their junior college, Our Lady of Victory College, located in Fort Worth. The sisters, together with Eugene Constantin, Jr. and Edward R. Maher, Sr., petitioned the Diocese of Dallas to sponsor the university, though ownership was entrusted to a self-perpetuating independent board of trustees. "Bishop Gorman, as chancellor of the new university, announced that it would be a Catholic coeducational institution welcoming students of all faiths and races and offering work on the undergraduate level, with a graduate school to be added as soon as possible. The new University of Dallas opened to ninety-six students in September 1956 on a 1,000-acre tract of rolling hills northwest of Dallas." Carpenter Hall, the first building on the campus of the University of Dallas The Sisters of Saint Mary of Namur, monks from the Order of Cistercians (Cistercians), friars from the Order of Friars Minor (Franciscans), and several lay professors formed the university's original faculty. The Franciscans departed three years later; however, friars from the Order of Preachers (Dominicans) joined the faculty in 1958 and built St. Albert the Great Priory on campus. The Cistercians established Our Lady of Dallas Abbey in 1958 and Cistercian Preparatory School in 1962, which are both adjacent to campus. The School Sisters of Notre Dame arrived in 1962 and opened the Notre Dame Special School for children with learning difficulties in 1963 and a motherhouse for the Dallas Province in 1964, which were both on campus. The sisters moved the school to Dallas in 1985 and closed the motherhouse in 1987. The faculty now is almost exclusively lay and includes several distinguished scholars. A grant from the Blakley-Braniff Foundation established the Braniff Graduate School in 1966 and allowed the construction of the Braniff Graduate Center. The Constantin Foundation similarly endowed the undergraduate college, and, in 1970, the Board of Trustees named the undergraduate college the Constantin College of Liberal Arts. The Graduate School of Management, begun in 1966, offers a large MBA program. Programs in art and English also began in 1966. In 1973, the Institute of Philosophic Studies, the doctoral program of the Braniff Graduate School and an outgrowth of the Kendall Politics and Literature Program, was initiated. The School of Ministry began in 1987. The College of Business, incorporating the Graduate School of Management and undergraduate business, opened in 2003. Since the first class in 1960, university graduates have won significant honors, including 30 Fulbright awards. Accreditation by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools came in 1963 and has been reaffirmed regularly. In 1989, it was the youngest higher education institution to be awarded a Phi Beta Kappa chapter.

College Specialty


The University of Dallas is dedicated to the pursuit of wisdom, of truth, and of virtue as the proper and primary ends of education. The University seeks to educate its students so they may develop the intellectual and moral virtues, prepare themselves for life and work in a problematic and changing world, and become leaders able to act responsibly for their own good and for the good of their family, community, country, and church. The University understands human nature to be spiritual and physical, rational and free. It is guided by principles of learning that acknowledge transcendent standards of truth and excellence that are themselves the object of search in an education.



Jeffrey Bishop - Philosopher, physician and bioethicist (Director of the Albert Gnaegi Center for Health Care Ethics) L. Brent Bozell III � Founder of Media Research Center and Fox News political commentator Robert Bunda � Hawaiian politician Oscar Cant� � Auxiliary bishop of the Archdiocese of San Antonio. John C. Eastman � Chairman of the Board, National Organization for Marriage Michael Duca - Bishop of Shreveport Emmet Flood � Special Counsel to President George W. Bush, 2007�2008 Daniel E. Flores - Bishop of Brownsville Joe G. N. Garcia � Pulmonary scientist and physician John H. Gibson � Senior Defense Department official and business executive Ernie Hawkins � Blues guitarist and singer Jason Henderson � Best-selling fantasy novelist and comic book author Thomas S. Hibbs - Philosopher and dean at Baylor University Andy Hummel - Bassist and songwriter for Big Star Tadashi Inuzuka � Japanese politician and diplomat Anita Jose � Professor, business strategist, essayist Katherine, Crown Princess of Yugoslavia � Wife of Alexander, Crown Prince of Yugoslavia Joseph Patrick Kelly - Literary scholar studying James Joyce Peter MacNicol � Actor, notable performances include Ghostbusters, Ally McBeal, and Fox's 24. Patrick Madrid � Author, radio host John McCaa - American television journalist Trish Murphy � Singer-songwriter Carl Olson � American journalist and Catholic writer Susan Orr � Former Head of the United States Children's Bureau Mackubin Thomas Owens � Assistant Dean of Academics for Electives, Naval War College Tan Parker � Texas state representative from Flower Mound Tom Rafferty - Professional football player (offensive lineman for the Dallas Cowboys) Gary Schmitt � Co-founder of the Project for the New American Century Gene Wolande - Actor (L.A. Confidential)and television writer (The Wonder Years) Brantly Womack � Professor of Government and Foreign Affairs, University of Virginia Eric McLuhan � Internationally known media theorist and son of Marshall McLuhan L. M. Kit Carson � Actor and screenwriter



Urban;744 Acres (301 Hectares)