College Search

Report Abuse

Seton Hall University

Seton Hall University is a private Roman Catholic university in South Orange, New Jersey, United States. Founded in 1856 by Archbishop James Roosevelt Bayley, Seton Hall is the oldest diocesan university in the United States. Seton Hall is also the oldest and largest Catholic university in New Jersey. The university is known for its programs in business, law, education, nursing, and diplomacy.


400 S Orange Ave
South Orange

Contact Information


Total Undergrad enrollment
Total Graduate enrollment
In State Tuition Fees
Out State Tuition Fees
ACT Score
SAT Score
Grade Point Average(GPA)
Male Female Ratio
Acceptance Rate
Student Faculty Ratio

Additional Information

College Type
Religious Affiliation
Roman Catholic Church
Campus Housing
Mission Statement
Seton Hall University is a major Catholic university. In a diverse and collaborative environment it focuses on academic and ethical development. Seton Hall students are prepared to be leaders in their professional and community lives in a global society and are challenged by outstanding faculty, an evolving technologically advanced setting and values-centered curricula.
Blue Gray And White
Big East

College History


Like many Catholic universities in the United States, Seton Hall arose out of the Plenary Council of American Bishops, held in Baltimore, Maryland in 1844, with the goal of bringing Catholicism to higher education in order to help propagate the faith. The Diocese of Newark had been established by Pope Pius IX in 1853, just three years before the founding of the college, and it necessitated an institution for higher learning. Seton Hall College was formally founded on September 1, 1856 by Archdiocese of Newark Bishop James Roosevelt Bayley, a cousin of President Theodore Roosevelt. Bishop Bayley named the institution after his aunt, Mother Elizabeth Ann Seton, who was later named the first American-born Catholic saint. The main campus of the college was originally in Madison, New Jersey. Reverend Bernard J. McQuaid served as the first college president (1856�1857, 1859�1868) and directed a staff of four diocesan clergy including Reverend Alfred Young, vice-president; Reverend Daniel Fisher (the second college president, 1857�1859) and five lay instructors. Initially, Seton Hall had only five students � Leo G. Thebaud, Louis and Alfred Boisaubin, Peter Meehan and John Moore. By the end of the first year, the student body had grown more than tenfold to 60. The college moved to its current location in 1860. Postcard showing Stafford Hall, one of the first dormitories, in the late 19th century By the 1860s, Seton Hall College was continuing its rapid growth and began to enroll more and more students each year. However, among other difficulties, several fires on campus slowed down the growth process. The first of several strange fires in the University's history occurred in 1867 which destroyed the college�s first building. Two decades later on March 9, 1886, another fire destroyed the university�s main building. In the 20th century, another campus fire burned down a classroom as well as several dormitory buildings in 1909. During the 19th century, despite setbacks, financially tight times and the American Civil War, the College continued to expand. Seton Hall opened a military science department (forerunner to the ROTC program) during the summer of 1893, but this program was ultimately disbanded during the Spanish-American War. Perhaps one of the most pivotal events in the history of Seton Hall came in 1897 when Seton Hall�s preparatory (high school) and college (undergraduate) divisions were permanently separated. By 1937, Seton Hall established a University College. This marked the first matriculation of women at Seton Hall. Seton Hall became fully coeducational in 1968. In 1948, Seton Hall was given a license by the FCC for WSOU-FM. President's Hall, one of the university's oldest buildings The College was organized into a university in 1950 following an unprecedented growth in enrollment. The College of Arts and Sciences and the schools of business, nursing and education comprised the University; the School of Law opened its doors in 1951, with Miriam Rooney as the first woman dean of law in the United States.

College Specialty


The mission of the Department of Accounting and Taxation is to prepare students to assume roles as accounting professionals in a global society and to advance the body of knowledge in the discipline. Our curricula, delivered in an environment characterized by small classes and extensive faculty student engagement, provide innovative and high-quality educational experiences that emphasize technical knowledge, analytical and communication skills, proficiency in information technology, and ethics.� Our programs are strengthened both by the contributions made by our industry partners and the ethical philosophy of the University.



Samuel Alito, current United States Supreme Court Justice, Patrick Clawson, director of the Washington Institute for Near East Policy Clay Constantinou, U.S. Ambassador to Luxembourg and former dean of the Whitehead School of Diplomacy Will Durant, a Pulitzer Prize-winning author and Presidential Medal of Freedom recipient Patrick E. Hobbs, former Dean of Seton Hall Law School Stanley Jaki, philosopher of science and Templeton Prize recipient. Leonard Marshall, New York Giants football player, who serves as a Stillman School of Business executive. Andrew Napolitano, former judge and current correspondent for Fox News Channel Peter W. Rodino, former chairman of House Judiciary Committee and chair of impeachment hearings for President Richard Nixon Scott Rothbort noted financial analyst with lakeview asset management Eliakim P. Scammon, brigadier general during the American Civil War Sister Rose Thering, missionary whose life�s work was documented in an Academy Award-nominated film Sister Rose�s Passion Cody Willard, American investor and television anchor.



Suburban, 58 Acres (0.2 Km2)