College Search

Report Abuse

Rutgers University

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, commonly referred to as Rutgers University, Rutgers, or RU, is an American public research university and the largest institution for higher education in New Jersey.
Originally chartered as Queen's College on November 10, 1766, Rutgers is the eighth-oldest college in the United States and one of the nine "Colonial Colleges" founded before the American Revolution. The college was renamed Rutgers College in 1825 in honor of Colonel Henry Rutgers (1745–1830), a New York City landowner, philanthropist and former military officer, whose generous donation to the school allowed it reopen after years of financial difficulty. For most of its existence, Rutgers was a private liberal arts college affiliated with the Dutch Reformed Church and admitted only male students. The college expanded its role in research and instruction in agriculture, engineering, and science when it was named as the state's sole land-grant college in 1864 under the Morrill Act of 1862.
It gained university status in 1924 with the introduction of graduate education and further expansion. However, Rutgers evolved into a coeducational public research university after being designated "The State University of New Jersey" by the New Jersey Legislature in laws enacted in 1945 and 1956. It is one of only two colonial colleges that later became public universities.



100 George Street
Zip/Post Code


Total Undergrad enrollment
Total Graduate enrollment
In State Tuition Fees
Out State Tuition Fees
ACT Score
SAT Score
Grade Point Average(GPA)
Male Female Ratio
Acceptance Rate
Student Faculty Ratio

Additional Information

College Type
Religious Affiliation
Campus Housing
Scarlet Knight
Big Ten

College History


Chartered in 1766 as all-male Queens College in New Brunswick, New Jersey, the school was renamed Rutgers College in 1825 in honor of trustee and Revolutionary War veteran Colonel Henry Rutgers. In the mid-19th century, Congress established the nations land-grant colleges in response to the Industrial Revolution.

In 1864, Rutgers prevailed over Princeton to become New Jerseys land-grant institution, tasked with offering educational access to a wider range of students who would be the new workforce for Americas expanding businesses, factories, and farms. The Modern University Access for women arrived in 1918, when the New Jersey College for Women (now Douglass Residential College) was founded. In 1945 and 1956, state legislative acts designated Rutgers as The State University of New Jersey, a public institution. The University of Newark (now Rutgers University Newark) joined Rutgers in 1946, followed by the College of South Jersey (now Rutgers University Camden) in 1950, which gave Rutgers a statewide presence.

In 1989, Rutgers was invited to join the Association of American Universities, making Rutgers one of the top 62 research universities in North America. Rutgers standing as a leading university reached new heights in 2013 when a state legislative act transferred to Rutgers much of the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey, including two medical schools and a dental school. Today, with more than 65,000 students, Rutgers is one of the most significant and diverse comprehensive research universities in the nation. Explore Rutgers History These resources will introduce you to many of Rutgers storied people, places, events, and traditions. We have been around for more than 240 years, so get busy. There is a lot of history to cover.

College Specialty


As the sole comprehensive public research university in the states system of higher education, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, has the threefold mission of providing for the instructional needs of New Jerseys citizens through its undergraduate, graduate, and continuing education programs; conducting the cutting-edge research that contributes to the medical, environmental, social, and cultural well-being of the state, as well as aiding the economy and the states businesses and industries.



At Queen's College's first commencement in 1774, one graduate, Matthew Leydt, received his baccalaureate degree in a brief ceremony. In May 2013, over 14,000 students received degrees. In Rutgers' 247 years, over 450,000 alumni from all 50 U.S. states and more than 120 foreign countries have attended and received degrees from the university.Approximately two-thirds of the university's alumni live in New Jersey, and many alumni remain active in the university community through alumni associations including the Rutgers Alumni Association (founded in 1831), annual reunions, homecomings, and other events. Rutgers alumni have been influential in academia arts, letters, entertainment, business, and public service.




Rutgers University has three regional campuses across the state of New Jersey; the New Brunswick Campus located in the city of New Brunswick and adjacent Piscataway Township, the Newark Campus in Newark, and the Camden Campus in Camden. These campuses comprise 33 degree-granting schools and colleges, offering undergraduate, graduate and professional levels of study. The university is centrally administered from New Brunswick, although Chancellors at the Newark and Camden campuses hold significant autonomy for some academic issues. Rutgers Fact Book at the Wayback Machine (archived December 23, 2007)