College Search

Report Abuse

Roosevelt University

Roosevelt University is a coeducational, private university with campuses in Chicago, Illinois and Schaumburg, Illinois.


430 S Michigan Ave


Total Undergrad enrollment
Total Graduate enrollment
In State Tuition Fees
Out State Tuition Fees
ACT Score
SAT Score
Grade Point Average(GPA)
Male Female Ratio
Acceptance Rate
Student Faculty Ratio

Additional Information

College Type
Religious Affiliation
Campus Housing
Green And White

College History


The university was founded in 1945. Edward J. Sparling, the president of Central YMCA College in Chicago, refused to provide his board with the demographic data of the student body, fearing the board would develop a quota system to limit the number of African Americans, Jews, immigrants, and women at the school. As a result, Sparling resigned under protest. When he left, he took with him a number of faculty and students, to start a new college. Faculty voted in favor 62 to 1, and students 488 to 2 for the school. In the beginning, the university had no library, campus, or endowment. The new college was chartered as Thomas Jefferson College on March 28, 1945 and had financial backing from Marshall Field III, the Julius Rosenwald Foundation, the International Ladies' Garment Workers Union, and numerous other individuals and organizations. Two weeks later, President Franklin D. Roosevelt died. The college obtained his widow Eleanor's permission to rename the institution as Roosevelt College in his memory. In 1947, the college purchased the Auditorium Building for one dollar, and it became the permanent home. The college was rededicated to both Franklin and Eleanor in 1959. Early advisory board members included Marian Anderson, Pearl Buck, Ralph Bunche, Albert Einstein, Thomas Mann, Gunnar Myrdal, Draper Daniels, and Albert Schweitzer. In August 1996, the university opened its Albert A. Robin Campus in Schaumburg, after a donation from Albert A. Robin, an entrepreneur and immigrant, . The institution is accredited as a Higher Education University by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools. It has been ranked the tenth most diverse private university in America by the New York Times and the second most diverse in the Midwest by U.S. News and World Reports.

College Specialty


Reflecting the ideals of its founders in 1945, Roosevelt University is a private, nonsectarian community of educators, scholars, and learners committed to academic, creative, and service excellence who value differences in personal experiences and perspectives; ask the difficult questions; and promote mutual understanding, inclusion, social consciousness, and action toward social justice. Recognizing that difference broadens perspectives, Roosevelt University seeks and serves a diverse, promising student body from metropolitan Chicago and around the world. The hallmarks of the Roosevelt University experience are strong student-faculty interaction and engagement with metropolitan Chicago as both a laboratory for learning and as an expression of its commitment to social justice. The experience is created through the efforts of a strong faculty dedicated to excellence in teaching, research, and creative activity and a staff equally focused on helping students grow and achieve their educational and life goals. Roosevelt is a metropolitan university that is an active partner in the social, economic and cultural development of the communities it serves. It offers a broad array of academic programs, from the baccalaureate through doctoral levels, in a highly interactive environment where students can explore, discover, and develop their unique abilities and interests.



Tony Alcantar: American actor. Edsel Albert Ammons: Bishop of the United Methodist Church. David Applebaum: Israeli physician. Melissa Bean: Politician (U.S. Congressman, Illinois 8th, 2005�11). Anthony Braxton: Jazz composer and performer. Jesse Brown: U.S. Secretary of Veteran's Affairs (1993�97). Merle Dandridge: Broadway and Television Actress. Charles V. Hamilton, political scientist Howard Wesley Johnson: Former chairman, Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Robert Lamm: of Chicago (band). Ramsey Lewis: Jazz musician, host, WNUA-FM radio. Grant R. Mulder: U.S. Air Force Major General. Michael Quigley: Politician, U. S. Congressman, Illinois 5th, since 2009. Jerry Roper: President and CEO of the Chicagoland Chamber of Commerce Franklin Rosemont: Surrealist artist and labor organizer. David Anderson: newspaper reporter, political editor, author. Bobby Rush: Black Panther, Politician, U.S. Congressman, Illinois 1st, since 1993. Ed Schock: Mayor of Elgin, Illinois. Shel Silverstein: American author, musician, poet, and children's book author. Jim Skinner: CEO, McDonald's Corporation. Lester Telser: economist Harold Washington: Late mayor of Chicago and first African American to hold the office. Berel Wein: Orthodox rabbi, scholar, lecturer, and writer. Ron Williams: Chairman and CEO, Aetna, Inc.. Phillip Jackson: American politician and community organizer. Tim Miller: Chairman and CEO, Beaver Freight International, Inc..



Chicago And Schaumburg, Illinois