College Search

Report Abuse

Rogers State University

Rogers State University is a public, regional university located in Claremore, Oklahoma with branch campuses in Bartlesville, Oklahoma and Pryor Creek, Oklahoma.


1701 W Will Rogers Blvd

Contact Information


Total Undergrad enrollment
In State Tuition Fees
Out State Tuition Fees
ACT Score
Grade Point Average(GPA)
Male Female Ratio
Acceptance Rate
Student Faculty Ratio

Additional Information

College Type
Religious Affiliation
Campus Housing
Blue Red
Heartland Conf

College History


The institution that is now RSU has gone through several stages in its existence, from its foundation as a state sponsored preparatory school, to its transition to a military academy, and finally, to its current incarnation as a four-year regional university. It has its roots in the Eastern University Preparatory School, which was founded in 1909. During the construction of the famous "Preparatory Hall", Eastern University Preparatory School held its classes in the old Claremont building until 1911. The institution was closed in 1917. In 1919 it was restarted as the Oklahoma Military Academy (OMA), to meet the growing educational and training needs of the United States Armed Forces. In 1923 it became a six-year program, providing a high school and junior college education. The school received an Army ROTC Honor School rating in 1932, and the junior college division became fully accredited in 1950. Graduates of the program became second lieutenants in the United States Army Reserve; more than 2,500 OMA graduates served in the military, and over 100 alumni gave their lives serving their country during World War II, the Korean War and the Vietnam War. OMA's enrollment declined during the later 1960s, due in part to the unpopularity of the Vietnam War, and in 1971, the Oklahoma Legislature replaced OMA with an institution to grant two-year associate degrees to the public known as Claremore Junior College. In 1982, it became Rogers State College, named after the county the main campus is located in, Rogers County, Oklahoma. Rogers County is in turn named in honor of Clement Vann Rogers, not Clem's son, Will Rogers.In 1996, Rogers State College and the University Center at Tulsa (UCAT) merged to form Rogers University, with campuses in Claremore and Tulsa, which operated for two years before being separated by the Oklahoma Legislature. The part that had been Rogers State College became a member of the OU Board of Regents, and was renamed Rogers State University. RSU was given permission to seek accreditation as a four year, bachelor degree granting university. In 2000, RSU became the institution it is today, a public four year, residential university. On August 16, 2006, Rogers State's Stratton Taylor Library was named a Federal depository library, the 20th in the state of Oklahoma. The university celebrated its centennial anniversary in 2009 with a series of special events, lectures, and celebrations, culminating with the dedication of the Centennial Center building that serves as a student services center. In 2005, RSU acquired a historic nine-story building to serve as its campus in downtown Bartlesville and the facility is a major anchor in the downtown Bartlesville redevelopment. In 2014, RSU celebrated the opening of its new Pryor campus located at the MidAmerica Industrial Park in Mayes County, Oklahoma. The $10 million construction project, including the 83-acre site, were provided to the university by the Oklahoma Ordnance Works Authority, which operates the park as a public trust. The donation represents the largest gift in the university's history.

College Specialty


Our mission is to ensure students develop the skills and knowledge required to achieve professional and personal goals in dynamic local and global communities. Our commitments, which support the RSU mission, are as follows: To provide quality associate, baccalaureate, and graduate degree opportunities and educational experiences which foster student excellence in oral and written communications, scientific reasoning, and critical and creative thinking. To promote an atmosphere of academic and intellectual freedom and respect for diverse expression in an environment of physical safety that is supportive of teaching and learning. To provide a general liberal arts education that supports specialized academic programs and prepares students for lifelong learning and service in a diverse society. To provide students with a diverse, innovative faculty dedicated to excellence in teaching, scholarly pursuits, and continuous improvement of programs. To provide University-wide student services, activities, and resources that complement academic programs. To support and strengthen student, faculty, and administrative structures that promote shared governance of the institution. To promote and encourage student, faculty, staff, and community interaction in a positive academic climate that creates opportunities for cultural, intellectual, and personal enrichment for the University and the communities it serves.