College Search

Report Abuse

Paine College

Paine College is a private Historically Black college located in Augusta, Georgia.


1235 15th St


Total Undergrad enrollment
In State Tuition Fees
Out State Tuition Fees
ACT Score
SAT Score
Grade Point Average(GPA)
Male Female Ratio
Acceptance Rate
Student Faculty Ratio

Additional Information

College Type
Religious Affiliation
Christian Methodist Episcopal and United Methodist Churches
Campus Housing
Purple And White

College History


Paine College was founded by the leadership of the Methodist Episcopal Church South, now United Methodist Church, and the Colored Methodist Episcopal Church, now Christian Methodist Episcopal Church. Paine was the brainchild of Bishop Lucius Henry Holsey, who first expressed the idea for the College in 1869. Bishop Holsey asked leaders in the ME Church South to help establish a school to train Negro teachers and preachers so that they might in turn appropriately address the educational and spiritual needs of the people newly freed from the evils of slavery. Leaders in the ME Church South agreed, and Paine Institute came into being. On November 1, 1882, the Paine College Board of Trustees, consisting of six members, three from each Church, met for the first time. They agreed to name the school in honor of the late Bishop Robert Paine of the MECS who had helped to organize the CME Church. In December, the Trustees selected Dr. Morgan Callaway as the first President of the College and enlarged the Board from six to 19 members, drawing its new membership from communities outside of Georgia so that the enterprise might not be viewed as exclusively local. Bishop Holsey traveled throughout the Southeast seeking funds for the new school. On December 12, 1882, he presented the Trustees of Paine Institute with $7.15 from the Virginia Conference and $8.85 from the South Georgia Conference. In that same month, Bishop Atticus Haygood, a minister of the ME Church South, gave $2,000 to support President Callaway through the first year. Thus, a $2,000 gift from a white minister of the Methodist Episcopal Church South and $16 raised by a CME minister � penny by penny from former slaves - became the financial basis for the founding of Paine College. In 1883, a Charter of Incorporation for The Paine Institute was granted, and the Trustees elected Dr. George Williams Walker as its first teacher. In January 1884, classes began in rented quarters in downtown Augusta. Presidents Morgan Callaway 1882�1884 George Williams Walker 1884�1911 John D. Hammond 1911�1915 D.E. Atkins 1915�1917 Albert Deems Betts 1917�1923 Ray S. Tomlin 1923�1929 E.C. Peters 1929�1956 E. Clayton Calhoun 1956�1970 Lucius H. Pitts 1971�1974 Julius S. Scott, Jr. 1975�1982 William H. Harris 1982�1988 Julius S. Scott, Jr. 1988�1994 Shirley A.R. Lewis 1994�2007 George C. Bradley 2007�present On December 28, 1884, the Reverend George Williams Walker was elected President of Paine Institute following the resignation of Reverend Callaway. In 1886, the College moved to its present site. The year 1888 was a very significant one for Paine College. Reverend Moses U. Payne, an MECS minister from Missouri, gave $25,000 to Paine for the endowment. Also in 1888, Trustee W. A. Candler presented a resolution to the Trustees authorizing President Walker to employ Dr. John Wesley Gilbert to become the first Black member of the faculty. Dr. Gilbert was Paine�s first student and first graduate. He furthered his education at Brown University and Athens, Greece. Since that time, the faculty has been interracial and international. President Walker died in 1910 after having headed Paine for twenty-six years. The Paine Institute began with a high school component and gradually developed a college department. In 1901 the first four-year degrees were granted at The Paine Institute. Initially, advanced students received special instruction on an individual basis, but by 1903 sufficient college-level work was provided to justify changing the school�s name to The Paine College. Paine continued its high school department until 1945, because there was no public secondary school for Blacks in Augusta until that year. Under the leadership of President Edmund Clarke Peters, 1929�1956, Paine College was accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools as a Class �B� institution in 1931 and then as a Class �A� institution in 1945. President E. Clayton Calhoun served as President from 1956 to 1970. During his leadership, Paine was approved by the University Senate of The Methodist Church in 1959, and the College was admitted to full membership in the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools in 1961. Dr. Lucius H. Pitts was elected President of Paine College in 1971. He was the first alumnus and first Black President of the College. He died in his office in 1974. Dr. Julius S. Scott, Jr. served as President of the College on two separate occasions: 1975 to 1982 and 1988 to 1994. Paine alumnus, Dr. William Harris, served during the period of 1982 to 1988. In 1994, Dr. Shirley A. R. Lewis became Paine College�s first female president. Paine College is a full-fledged liberal arts institution offering courses and major programs in five divisions: Business Administration, Education, Humanities, Natural Sciences and Mathematics and Social Sciences. The College remains a small, predominantly Black, coeducational, church-related school, gratefully related to its founding denominations and open to all.

College Specialty


New Tools New Vision 2 �Augusta, will provide leadership in facilitating collaborative partnerships and building capacity among grassroots community organizations, other community based organizations and Paine College (HBCU) by using Community Based Participatory Research methods in the Augusta Richmond County region in order to advance efforts to eliminate health disparities. Founded on the tradition of youth anti violence and gang prevention, the organization will identify and operationalize the best practices designed to enhance empowerment of community leaders to address the complex means by which health disparities is reflected in the community, particularly amongst the youth.



Channing Tobias 1902 civil rights activist and appointee on the President's Committee on Civil Rights William H. Harris Past President of Paine College, Texas Southern University, and Alabama State University Mack Gipson, Jr. NASA consultant who was the second African American to obtain a Ph.D. in Geology Emma R. Gresham 1953 Mayor of Keysville GA (1985-2005) and the second African American female to be elected as a chief official in Georgia Shirley McBay First African-American Dean at Massachusetts Institute of Technology Nathaniel Linsey Senior Bishop of the Christian Methodist Episcopal Church Ruth B. Crawford Dir. of Shiloh Community Center and designer of the Paine College flag Mike Thurmond Attorney and first African-American elected as Georgia Labor Commissioner John Wesley Gilbert First African-American Archaeologist Lucius Pitts First African-American president of Paine College Elias Blake HBCU advocate who helped develop the Upward Bound program and past president of Clark College Micah Troy Hip hop musician (also known as "Pastor Troy") Joseph Lowery President of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference 1977-1997 Woodie W. White 1958 Bishop of the United Methodist Church Frank Yerby 1937 Internationally acclaimed author and film writer



Urban 64.4-acre (260,617.6 m2)