College Search

Report Abuse

Norfolk State University

Norfolk State University is a public four-year, coed, liberal arts, historically black university located in Norfolk, Virginia. The University is a member-school of Thurgood Marshall College Fund and the Virginia High-Tech Partnership.


700 Park Avenue


Total Undergrad enrollment
Total Graduate enrollment
In State Tuition Fees
Out State Tuition Fees
ACT Score
SAT Score
Grade Point Average(GPA)
Male Female Ratio
Acceptance Rate
Student Faculty Ratio

Additional Information

College Type
Religious Affiliation
Campus Housing
Green Gold
Mid-Eastern (MEAC)

College History


The institution was founded On September 18, 1935 as the Norfolk Unit of Virginia State College (present day Virginia State University). Eighty-five students attended the first classes held in 1935. Mr. Samuel Fischer Scott, an alumnus of Virginia Union and Portsmouth native, served as the first director with the primary focus of maintaining the solvency of the school. Dr. Lyman Beecher Brooks, a Virginia Union alumnus, succeeded Mr. Scott as director in 1938, and served as provost, 1963�1969, and the first president 1969-1975. In 1942, the school became independent of VUU and was named Norfolk Polytechnic College. Within two years, by an act of the Virginia Legislature, it became a part of Virginia State College (now Virginia State University). By 1950, the 15th anniversary of the College founding, the faculty had grown to fifty and the student enrollment to 1,018. In 1952, the College's athletic teams adopted the "Spartan" name and identity. The City of Norfolk provided a permanent site for the college on Corprew Avenue, and in 1955 Brown Hall, formerly Tidewater Hall, opened as the first permanent building on the new campus. In 1956 Norfolk State College granted its first bachelor's degrees. In 1969, the college divided from Virginia State College and was named Norfolk State College. The College was issued accreditation from the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools the same year with an enrollment of 5,400 students. In 1975 and the year following, the first Master�s degrees were awarded in Communications and Social Work, respectively. Dr. Harrison Benjamin Wilson, Jr., in 1975, succeeded Dr. Lyman Beecher Brooks as President after 37 years. When the college was granted university status in 1979 by the General Assembly of Virginia, it changed its name to Norfolk State University. Norfolk State University celebrated its 50th anniversary in 1985 with a year of observances and with an enrollment of 7,200. In 1995 Norfolk State University's enrollment reached 9,112. Upon the retirement of Dr. Harrison Benjamin Wilson in 1997, Dr. Marie Valentine McDemmond, became NSU�s third President in 1997 and served until her retirement. Dr. Alvin J. Schexnider became interim president in July 2005. Dr. Carolyn Winstead Meyers was selected as the fourth President and began service on July 1, 2006. Dr. Tony Atwater was announced as the new president in 2011 becoming the fifth president and served until he was removed by the board of visitors of Norfolk State University on August 23, 2013. Dr. Sandra DeLoatch the Provost and President of Academic Affairs was named acting president effective. On September 13, 2013, Eddie N. Moore Jr. was appointed interim president of Norfolk State University and will start on September 23, 2013

College Specialty


Through exemplary teaching, scholarship, and outreach, Norfolk State University transforms lives and communities by empowering individuals to maximize their potential, creating life-long learners equipped to be engaged leaders and productive global citizens.



Willard Bailey 1962 former head football coach at Virginia Union University, Norfolk State University, and Saint Paul's College Gordon Banks guitarist, producer, writer and musical director Al Beard former ABA player for the New Jersey Americans Ron Bolton 1972 former NFL player for the New England Patriots and the Cleveland Browns Karen Briggs Violinist Vincent Brothers convicted American mass murderer Chris Brown Bahamian track & field sprinter Don Carey 2009 NFL defensive back Bob Dandridge 1969 former NBA player for the Milwaukee Bucks and the Washington Bullets Derek T. Dingle senior vice president/editor-in-chief of Black Enterprise magazine Ray Epps 1977 former NBA player for the Golden State Warriors Evelyn J. Fields 1971 former director of the Office of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Corps Operations and the NOAA Commissioned Corps. She was the first woman and the first African American to hold this position. Future Man percussionist and member of the jazz quartet B�la Fleck and the Flecktones Willie Gillus former NFL player for the Green Bay Packers Elbert Guillory Republican member of the Louisiana State Senate from Opelousas, Louisiana; elected as a Democrat in 2007 but switched parties on May 31, 2013 Paul Hines football coach and the inspiration for Denzel Washington's character in the Disney film Remember the Titans Pee Wee Kirkland First-round NBA draft pick (1969, Chicago Bulls) and notable Rucker Park street basketball star. As a junior, he teamed with Bob Dandridge, and was named to the all-tournament team at the NCAA Mideast Regional in 1967. Ray Jarvis former NFL player for the Atlanta Falcons, Buffalo Bills, Detroit Lions, and the New England Patriots Lee Johnson former NBA player for the Detroit Pistons; selected as the 72nd player (22ndth player in the 3rd round) in the 1988 NBA Draft Leroy Jones former NFL player for the San Diego Chargers Nathan McCall former reporter for the Virginian Pilot-Ledger Star, the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, and The Washington Post and the author of the best selling book Makes Me Wanna Holler Jon McKinney former NBA player for the Boston Celtics; selected as the 55th player (4th player in the 4th round) in the 1970 NBA Draft Yvonne B Miller Democratic State Senator who represents the 5th Senatorial District of the Commonwealth of Virginia Regina W. Mobley 1982 lead news anchor at WVEC-13 located in Downtown Norfolk, Virginia Dr. Keith H. Newby 1986 prominent cardiologist at Sentara Norfolk General Hospital and owner/developer of Fort Norfolk Medical Plaza in Downtown Norfolk, Virginia Kyle O'Quinn 2012 NBA player for the Orlando Magic David Pope 1984 former NBA player for the Utah Jazz, Kansas City Kings, and the Seattle SuperSonics Ken Reaves former NFL player for the Atlanta Falcons, New Orleans Saints, and the St. Louis Cardinals Tim Reid 1968 comedian, actor, director Randall Robinson African-American lawyer, author and activist, who is noted as the founder of TransAfrica James Edward Roe 1995 former NFL player for the Baltimore Ravens and Arena Football League player for the San Jose SaberCats J.B. Smoove actor, writer, and stand-up comedian, best known for role as Leon on Curb Your Enthusiasm Chandra Sturrup Bahamian track sprinter; Gold Medal Winner in the 2000 Olympics Valente Frazier Emmy Award-winning Make-Up Artist Shawn Z. Tarrant 1998 member, Maryland House of Delegates Andrew Warren 1993 former U.S. diplomat to Algeria Susan Wigenton 1984 Federal Judge, United States District Court for the District of New Jersey D'Extra Wiley Entertainment Veteran, Producer and former MCA Records R&B Artist for the 90's New Jack group II D Extreme Herman A. Valentine Founded Systems Management American Corp. (SMA) a computer manufacturing and software corporation in downtown Norfolk, Virginia in 1970, and was ranked 20th among the Top 100 Black businesses in the nation in 1990. He also holds a degree in business from Norfolk State and served as a business manager for Norfolk State University. Denise N. Tynes 1975 Council Woman for the Town of Smithfield, Virginia. Member of the Isle of Wight County (Virginia) School Board.



Urban, 134 acres (0.5 km2)