College Search

Report Abuse

Mississippi Valley State University

Mississippi Valley State University is a historically black university located in unincorporated Leflore County, Mississippi, in the Mississippi Delta, near Itta Bena. MVSU is a member- school of the Thurgood Marshall College Fund.


14000 Highway 82 West
Itta Bena


Total Undergrad enrollment
In State Tuition Fees
Out State Tuition Fees
ACT Score
SAT Score
Grade Point Average(GPA)
Male Female Ratio
Acceptance Rate
Student Faculty Ratio

Additional Information

College Type
Religious Affiliation
Campus Housing
Delta Devil
Green White Forest Green Kelly Green

College History


The institution, which opened in 1950, was created by the Mississippi Legislature as Mississippi Vocational College. The legislation to form the institution was signed into law by Governor Thomas L. Bailey on April 5, 1946. The legislature anticipated that legal segregation of public education was in danger (and would in four years be declared unconstitutional in the United States Supreme Court's decision in Brown v. Board of Education the institution, hoping that its existence would draw African-American applicants who might have otherwise applied to attend Mississippi's premier whites-only institutions�the University of Mississippi, Mississippi State University, and the University of Southern Mississippi. Creating separate institutions of higher learning for Mississippi's black population, the state's political leaders hoped, would help ease the pressure to integrate the state's premier universities. To attract the support of those who opposed any government action to provide higher education to blacks, those proposing creation of M.V.C. used the term "vocational" to imply that the institution's main purpose would be to train blacks to take on blue-collar jobs. The site selection committee appointed by the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning had originally selected the Greenwood Army Air Base, which had many facilities ready for use and thus would have been a very cost-effective choice. The Greenwood Commonwealth celebrated the choice. However, residents of Carroll County, Mississippi objected to having the institution located near their property. Thus after further study, the proposed site was moved to Itta Bena. Even that town, however, objected to too close a proximity of a black institution, so the final site was chosen to place the college away from the downtown area, on cheap, uncultivatable land. In 1964, Mississippi Vocational College was renamed Mississippi Valley State College. In February 1969, a nonviolent student boycott which included 800 students, male and female was organized to protest President White's administration of the institution. The students were demanding required courses in black history, more library purchases of works by black writers, remedial courses in English and Math, scheduling of prominent black speakers and fewer curfew restrictions. In the early 1970s, civil rights leaders continued to protest the inequalities in higher education opportunities offered to whites and blacks in Mississippi. In an effort to defuse some of the criticism, Gov. William Waller proposed changing the names of three black institutions from "colleges" to "universities." Thus, in 1974, the institution was renamed again, as Mississippi Valley State University'. Following President White, Dr. Earnest A. Boykins took office in July 1971. Dr. Joe L. Boyer became MVSU's third president in January 1982 and was followed by Dr. William W. Sutton in July 1988. Dr. Lester C. Newman became the fifth president of MVSU on July 1, 1998. Dr. Donna H. Oliver became MVSU's sixth president and first female president on January 1, 2009. Effective December 2012, the Mississippi IHL appointed Dr. Alfred Rankins Jr. as the Acting President of the University. In 1998, the university renamed many of the buildings on campus, except for the ones named after Sillers, Wright, and J. H. White.

College Specialty


Mississippi Valley State University, as a Carnegie Classified Master's University, provides comprehensive undergraduate and graduate programs in education, the arts and sciences, and professional studies. The University is driven by its commitment to excellence in teaching, learning, service, and research--a commitment resulting in a learner-centered environment that prepares critical thinkers, exceptional communicators, and service-oriented, engaged, and productive citizens. MVSU is fundamentally committed to positively impacting the quality of life and creating extraordinary educational opportunities for the Mississippi Delta and beyond.



Name Class year Notability Reference(s) Katie Hall 1960 former U.S. Representative from Indiana from 1982 to 1985, and former city clerk of Gary, Indiana David Lee Jordan N/A Democratic Mississippi State Senator since 1993 Ferr Smith 1964 Democratic Mississippi state representative since 1993 Jerry Rice 1985 Former NFL wide receiver; member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame Willie Totten 1985 Former Head coach of the Delta Devils football team Patricia Hoskins 1991 former player for the women's basketball team, the Devilletes, who once held the record for NCAA Division I women's basketball points scored in a career Ashley Ambrose 1992 NFL cornerback Fred Bohannon 1982 Former NFL defensive back Vincent Brown 1987 Former NFL linebacker and current college football coach Parnell Dickinson 1975 Former NFL quarterback Ricky Feacher 1975 Former NFL wide receiver and member Alphonso Ford 1992 Former NBA and Euroleague basketball player James Haynes 1984 Former NFL linebacker (1984-1989) for the New Orleans Saints Corey Holmes 2000 Mayor of Metcalfe, Mississippi; former CFL running back George Ivory 1988 Current men's head basketball coach at University of Arkansas-Pine Bluff Deacon Jones 1960 Former NFL defensive end; member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame Dave McDaniels 1967 Former NFL wide receiver Melvin Morgan 1976 Former NFL defensive back Tyrone Timmons 2006 Arena Football wide receiver Sam Washington 1981 Former NFL cornerback Ted Washington, Sr. 1972 Former NFL linebacker Danta Whitaker 1989 Former NFL tight end



Rural 450-acre (180 ha)